Coffee Talk With Charlotte Designers Part II

Today we’re sitting down with, Summer Hogan, Simply Stylings, and talking about interior design from the DIY maven!

SimpleStylingsdraft72dpi

My passion for design and DIY has drawn me to people like Beth and Summer. While attending the fall High Point Furniture Market I took a seminar, led by Robert Leleux, Editor of Domino Magazine, on the evolving interior design industry. The panel was made up of traditional interior designers and ones that have entered the industry through their own self-taught methods and blogging.  Summer, falls into the later, with her non traditional path into design as a home design blogger and stylist who creates simple style for home and life.

new headshot2

Like Beth, I met Summer through One Room Challenge, and instantly connected with her love for coastal design and décor! Summer will be joining Beth on Saturday for Style Session Live, a way to connect more locally in Charlotte and to provide FREE design advice. You can get all the details here and catch up with Beth, designPOST interiors.

Q: How did you get into interior design?
A: Interior design has been in my DNA since I was born. My mom is an incredible decorator and my dad is a designer and builder of beautiful homes, not necessarily by trade but by passion. We’ve lived in many homes growing up (only within about a 5 mile radius mind you) and I’ve always enjoyed watching and helping my mom bring each new place to life as well as the building process.
Q: What’s your favorite design project to date?
A: My favorite project to date is a tie between my coastal deck and my modern office space. I also love one of my clients master bedroom projects that has almost come to life!
Coffee Talk with Charlotte Designer Simple Stylings || Sarah Sofia Productions
Q: What’s your worst design project or most challenging project to date?
A:  I’m currently working on my dining room and kitchen renovation and I have to say the kitchen has been the toughest challenge yet. Kitchens can be so expensive and when you’re trying to do it on a basically non-existent budget its tough. Also, I never was a math kid so I’ve had all the square foot number crunching I can handle!
Coffee Talk with Charlotte Design Simply Stylings || Sarah Sofia Productions
Coffee Talk with Charlotte Designer Simply Stylings || Sarah Sofia Productions
Q: What and or who inspires you?
A: I’m inspired by so many people and it really depends on the season I’m in but right now I can’t get enough of Pencil and Paper Co.! This dynamic duo has completely blown me away with their style. Not only are their client projects amazing but their own home as well as their fashion sense is impeccable.
Q: How can the average person design a space on a budget?
A: My key advice for the average person to create a space on a budget is patience. Find a few inspirations images that you love and break it down. Hunt for similar finds at budget décor stores such as HomeGoods or thrift stores. Figure out what you can and cannot DIY.  Don’t forget to look at Lowes and Home Depot, which have so many high-end looking options at affordable prices, for lighting, hardware, and décor.

If you only have a semi-creative mind {like Summer} you can still create simple style for your home and life.

Contact Simply Stylings: Website/Blog

Follow Simply Stylings: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram

4 thoughts on “Coffee Talk With Charlotte Designers Part II

  1. Pingback: Weekend Happenings - Simple Stylings

  2. Great article. Owning an old house myself and currently renovating a bathroom.. I’m learning that designing is not my talent.. taking lost of tips from people like this!!
    Thanks

Leave a comment