Coffee Talk with Charlotte Interior Designers

Since spring is right around the corner, many of us start getting the itch to spruce up our home. Today I am having coffee talk with Charlotte interior designer Beth Barden,  designPost interiors, to get us inspired.

blog headshot 4 super exposed

I met Beth through One Room Challenge and love her eye for design! She is always designing spaces that are fresh, fun and functional. Since we both share the love for a good DIY project and entertaining Beth was a natural fit to be a guest on Sarah Sofia Productions.

If you’re local in Charlotte you must check out Style Session Live!

Coffee Talk With Charlotte Interior Designers

Q: What is Style Session Live?

A: Style Session Live is a way to connect more locally in Charlotte and to provide FREE design advice.  We don’t want decorating to be intimidating and taking 30 minutes to chat with you about your design dilemmas might just be the first step in helping you finally create a home you love!

Q: How did you start designPost interiors and find your style?

A: designPOST interiors grew from a hobby to a blog to doing work for friends and family and now fills my days with small to full-scale decorating projects!  I have always loved design, even as a child I used to rearrange my room on a weekly basis so I am so excited that I get to do it as a legitimate job now!  My style is influenced by everything from my love of the beach to my quest to find the best deals to my desire to make my home feel comfortable and welcoming.  When working with clients I love the challenge of trying to find the right balance of their style, my style, and a few unique pieces for each space.

Coffe Talk with designPOST Interiors || Sarah Sofia Productions

Q Beth: How did you get into interior design?
A: My love of design started basically as a child.  I have always cared about how my surroundings look and get a lot of joy in tweaking things to be just right.  I never thought of decorating as a career and so instead got a degree that I never really used.  It wasn’t until I started getting requests from friends to help them decorate that I really started considering it as a job.  Blogging also really helped turn my hobby into a business.  I made connections, documented my work and style and eventually started getting more and more referrals.  It has been a blast to watch everything grow!
Q: What’s your favorite design project to date?
A: My favorite design project…hmmm that’s hard because I get attached to every room but I really love this one playroom I designed.  We went with an unpredictable black and white color scheme and the room just feel so fun to me!
Coffee Talk with designPOST Interiors || Sarah Sofia Productions
I also have a few projects that are currently wrapping up that I can’t wait to get photographed!!
Q: What’s your worst design project or most challenging project to date?
A: I am probably my worst client, ha ha!  I have tried lots of different ideas in my own house and some have been total flops!  I’d rather try it out in my house than a paying clients so I guess it’s all good! That being said, after several design challenges with my living room I finally love the new and improved space in our home!
Coffee Talk With Design Post Interiors || Sarah Sofia Productions
Q: What and or who inspires you as a designer?
A: I am overwhelmed with inspiration on a daily basis just from other blogs and Pinterest alone.  I also find lots of inspiration from going to actual stores.  I love seeing how they display things and use different color combinations.  If I had to pick one designer though it would most definitely be Emily Henderson- love her!
Q: How can the average person design a space on a budget?
A: Designing on a budget has been the name of my game for a long time.  I have never had millions to spend and even if I did I am just a budget girl at heart.  I am convinced I can find a knock off of anything I want at HomeGoods, Target or TJ Maxx.  Designing a space on a budget is just about having an open mind, patience, and a little guts!
Plan, organize, style and transform your space with designPost interiors!Contact designPost interiors: Website/Blog

Follow designPost interiors: Facebook and Instagram

Make sure you come back for Part II with Summer from Simple Stylings.

 

26 thoughts on “Coffee Talk with Charlotte Interior Designers

  1. Pingback: Coffee Talk With Charlotte Designers Part II |

  2. Wow, these are lovely! Wish we were closer…we’re about 4 hours away! I’m inspired just by the pics ;)! Thanks for sharing! Visiting from lovelyyoublog.com!
    -Natasha

  3. Beautiful rooms i love the blue sofa and the build in shelves clean, neat and how I like it. Graphic was clear and on point.

  4. Wow, so much inspiration in this post! I really like her design style, and it was fun to hear from her. Thanks for sharing this with Hump Day Happenings!

Leave a Reply

