Inspiration for the Holiday Season: Trimming the Tree and Christmas Décor

Merry & Bright

We are teaming up with wedding and event pros to inspire you this holiday season! If you’re just joining us make sure you check out the other posts in the series: Santa Claus is Coming to Town Party with Elf on the Shelf, holiday dessert bar and sweet desserts, Christmas Tradition and DécorChristmas Tablescape Inspiration and Mama’s Cranberry & Apple Dish, a Christmas tradition in our family!

Today we are sharing the fun tradition of trimming the tree and our Christmas décor this year.

Trimming the Christmas Tree

Last year I was all about burlap and the natural look. This year I went back to my favorite color red and used all our ornaments. I added a basket to make the look interesting and vintage.

Trimming the Tree

This was our second year not traveling and continuing the our family tradition of decorating the Christmas tree during Thanksgiving weekend. Both my girls loved it even more than last year!

Christmas Decor & Traditions

Since I’m highly allergic to trees, we stick with a faux Christmas tree. This one is 7 1/2 feet tall and has built in lights, which is a time saver.

Decorating the Christmas Tree

I love how the color pops against the neutral walls. Even our dog Bailey feels the warmth and coziness that the tree brings to our family room!

Christmas Decor & Traditions

Christmas Decor and TraditionsThis year we added box wood wreaths to our décor. I love how it pulls the room together! A florist can easily cost you $30-$40, but we found ours at Trader Joe’s for $9.99 each and added the red bows.

Christmas Decor and Tradition 2

As my daughter Sofia says “let’s decorate more together”! So naturally, we moved on to the fireplace and hanging the stockings.

Christmas Decor and Tradition

I had wanted to get to update our fireplace with unclaimed wood for a mantle piece, but it’s still on the to do list for our new home. Thus, we improvised again this year with nails to hang our stockings from Pottery Barn Kids.

Christmas Decor and Tardition

You don’t have to spend a lot of money to decorate your home for Christmas. Use what you already own and add to your collection each year. My favorite two new pieces this year are the Hope marquee light from Target and Merry Christmas gold glitter banner from Hobby Lobby.

Christmas Decor and Tradition

Christmas Decor and Tradition

I love using vintage finds like the Santa Claus Advent Calendar from HomeGoods. Be creative with your décor and add vignettes to your build in shelves.

Christmas Decor and Tradition

Christmas Decor and Tradition

I’ve used some of my burlap décor from last year in this years. This burlap wreath was an easy DIY craft that I have used for all seasons by simply switching out the ribbon. Get the details on the DIY wreath here.

Christmas Decor and Tradition

When decorating your home remember to pull your design through out your home. I love how the red pops from the Christmas tree, to the box wood wreaths, to my tablescape!

Christmas Decor and Tradition

 

This last image is from our photo shoot with Classic Party Rentals. Come by next week to get the details on this Christmas and holiday tablescape!

Vendor Credits

Design & Styling – Sarah Sofia Productions

Photography – Sarah Sofia Productions

Vintage Santa Advent Calender – Home Goods

Christmas Stockings – Pottery Barn Kids

Hope marque light – Target

Merry Christmas garland – Hobby Lobby

Burlap wreath – Sarah Sofia Productions

Box wood wreath – Sarah Sofia Productions and Trader Joe’s

White lanterns – Ikea

Santa Claus, elf, snowman, & reindeer – Hobby Lobby

 

 

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Inspiration for the Holiday Season: Trimming the Tree and Christmas Décor

  1. So glad I saw this today! We’re decorating our tree tonight, and I’m in need of some inspiration! I bought some ornaments yesterday because this will be my first Christmas tree of my own. I’ve been without one for a couple years! I love traditional colors so I went with red, green, and gold. So excited to decorate tonight!

  2. I love your Christmas tree! I still haven’t gotten any of our decorations out yet (we’re leaving for a week smack in the middle of December), so I’m having to live vicariously through all of my blogger friends’ decorations!

  3. Pingback: Inspiration for the Holiday Season: Christmas Tabelscape |

  4. Pingback: Top 12 Posts of 2014 |

Leave a Reply

