Mama’s Cranberry and Apple Dish: A Thanksgiving and Christmas Tradition

Last week I provided a Thanksgiving round up of home décor and tablescape!

Thanksgiving Inspiration

If you missed all the Thanksgiving inspiration you can check it out here.

Thanksgving Inspiration

After receiving rave reviews and requests for the recipe, I’m finally sharing a family favorite that started with my Southern grandmother: Mama’s Cranberry and Apple Dish.

Mamas Cranberry and Apple Dish

This dish is a Thanksgiving and Christmas tradition in our family.  It’s good with turkey anytime and will wow you’re guests!

Mama’s Cranberry & Apple Dish

Ingredients: Serves 6-8

  • 3 cups sliced, peeled gala apples
  • 2 cups raw cranberries
  • 3/4 cup sugar or Splenda
  • 1 stick melted butter
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar of Splenda brown sugar
  • 1 cup uncooked oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup of chopped pecans

Put apples and cranberries in layers in a baking dish. Sprinkle sugar or Splenda on top. Melt the butter and mix with flour, brown sugar, oatmeal and pecans. Spread mixture over the top layer of apples and cranberries. Cook at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes. Serve immediately with turkey and sides.

Mama's Cranberry & Apple Dish

This recipe was first published in America Discovers Columbus, a collection of recipes for easy entertaining from The Junior League of Columbus, when my mother was cookbook chairman. It has come full circle as I’ve started my own family in Charlotte, NC, where my mother was born and raised, and I’m currently a member of Junior League of Charlotte.

Thanksgiving Inspiration

Hope this inspires you to start your own Thanksgiving and Christmas tradition!

Thanksgiving Inspiration and Recipes

Sarah

Credits

Styling and design – Sarah Sofia Productions

Photography – Sarah Sofia Productions

Mama’s Cranberry and Apple Dish – Sarah Sofia Productions

 

 

43 thoughts on “Mama’s Cranberry and Apple Dish: A Thanksgiving and Christmas Tradition

    • Becca, many thanks! Make your own family tradition! This will be the 2nd year I’m cooking and we are not with my side of the family or my husbands. Instead, we are sharing Thanksgiving with neighborhood friends. 🙂

  1. Love this!! Cranberries are my fave Thanksgiving flavor, but sometimes just plain old cranberry sauce can be boring. I like that this still highlights the cranberry flavor but has other delicious ingredients too!

  2. Wow. I felt like I was seeing the Death Star for the first time when I laid eyes on that dish.

    Just, wow.

    In fact, I’d like to try to make this before 2014 is over. Unless I can get someone to make it for me first.

    *Glad to have found you through the Hump Day Happenings linkup.

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving Inspiration: Get The Look For Less |

  4. Pingback: Inspiration for The Holidays: Christmas Tablescape |

  5. Pingback: Inspiration for the Holiday Season: Trimming the Tree and Christmas Décor |

  6. Pingback: Inspiration for the Holiday Season: Christmas Tabelscape |

  7. Pingback: A Southern Girls Guide to Christmas Traditions | MOMentous Moms

  8. Pingback: Top 12 Posts of 2014 |

Leave a Reply

